CEBEDEAU • Environmental microbiology

Putting biological activity at the service of water treatment and the environment.

Expertise

In brief

Understanding microbiological equilibrium and metabolic functions is the key to mastering biological treatments. Biological processes have very low energy consumption and high resource efficiency and have enormous potential in water treatment to meet the challenges of sustainability.

This expertise includes the development of cutting-edge microbiological analysis methods: sequencing and amplification, metabarcoding, cytometry, etc.

Our approach

Microbial ecology and biodiversity

Our researchers use microbial ecology to find new solutions to various water-related problems.

Over the past few years, our team has developed specific knowledge in biofilms. This has led to the invention of two aerobic granular sludge wastewater treatment processes (GRASS® and BEFLOW®) and the control of biofilm growth by quorum quenching. We also use this know-how for the diagnosis of biofilter and activated sludge malfunctions.

The potential of biofilms as indicators of biodiversity is currently being investigated.

Development of microbiological analysis methods

Every year, we carry out projects to develop rapid and robust analytical methods that characterise the microbiological quality of water. It is now possible to quantify the bacteriological contamination of water in a matter of minutes.

New sequencing tools are available to identify bacterial consortia and their functions. From the extraction of the DNA to the processing of the bioinformatics data, we carry out all the steps in-house. A "pie chart" can be generated within one day.

Other expertises

Discover all our expertises
See more about Sampling & Analysis

Sampling & Analysis

A team of experienced technicians who adapt to each situation to take representative samples and analyse them with the utmost care.

Discover the related solutions

Discover all our other solutions

Our news

Discover our case studies, our latest news and many practical tips

Blog

Job offer

Le CEBEDEAU recrute un technicien de laboratoire

CEBEDEAU • Microbiologie environnementale

Mettre l’activité biologique au service du traitement d’eau et de l’environnement.

Expertise

En bref

Comprendre les équilibres microbiologiques, appréhender les fonctions métaboliques sont les clés pour maitriser les traitements biologiques. Très peu énergivores et frugales en ressources, les procédés biologiques ont un potentiel énorme en traitement d’eau, pour répondre aux défis de durabilité.

Cette expertise passe par le développement de méthodes d’analyse microbiologique de pointe : séquençage et amplification, metabarcoding, cytométrie …

Notre approche

Ecologie microbienne et biodiversité

Nos chercheurs s’appuient sur l’écologie microbienne pour trouver de nouvelles solutions aux diverses problématiques liées à l’eau.

Au cours des dernières années, notre équipe a développé une connaissance spécifique dans les biofilms. Avec pour résultat l’invention, par exemple, de procédés d’épuration d’eaux usées par boues granulaires aérobies (GRASS®, BEFLOW®, etc.) et le contrôle de la croissance des biofilms par « quorum quenching ». Ou plus régulièrement, le diagnostic de dysfonctionnement de biofiltres et de boues activées.

Le potentiel des biofilms comme indicateur de la biodiversité est actuellement à l’étude.

Développement de méthodes d’analyse microbiologique

Chaque année, nous menons des projets pour développer des méthodes d’analyses rapides et robustes qui caractérisent la qualité microbiologique des eaux. En quelques minutes, il devient possible de quantifier la contamination bactériologique d’une eau.

Nous profitons des nouveaux outils de séquençage pour identifier les consortiums bactériens et leurs fonctions. Depuis l’extraction de l’ADN jusqu’au traitement des données bio-informatiques, nous réalisons toutes les étapes en interne. Un jour suffit pour obtenir un « graphique en camembert ».

Découvrez nos solutions liées

Découvrir toutes nos autres solutions

Notre actualité

Découvrez nos études de cas, nos dernières actus et de nombreux conseils pratiques

La Tribune de l’eau

Article

Nous recrutons